Skip to content

Cookies Worth Baking

May 24, 2010

My friend Carolyn passed an absolute winner of a chocolate chip cookie recipe on to me. If you like thin, chewy cookies with crispy edges, these are for you. The recipe is actually an old one, the original Toll House cookie recipe, but the substitution Carolyn taught me is what makes all the difference. Instead of 1 cup butter, sub in 1 cup of  Earth Balance, a soy and vegetable oil based spread. I got my tub at Trader Joe’s but I imagine it is available at Whole Foods as well. Omit salt, and add a smidge more flour (1 or 2 tbs) and otherwise follow the recipe as written. I always recommend removing cookies from the oven before they seem completely baked– they will finish up as they cool on the tray. If you leave them in the oven too long, transfer immediately tray to the cooling rack to prevent further baking.

I’ve made this recipe twice– the second time I subbed in 1/2 a cup whole wheat flour and Tex didn’t notice a thing amiss. These yummy cookies were still moist and chewy 2 days after baking. It’s a miracle they lasted that long though.

From → boys, delicious, home, kiddos

2 Comments
  1. Carolyn permalink

    Thanks Hannah. Just wanted to let you know I leave the salt in. They are definitely yummy.

    • I DO love a salty cookie and left the salt in the first time, omitted it the next as an experiment. Both were pretty perfect, but I thought some people might find them too salty. Unfortunately, I am hard pressed to find anything too salty and think I’m passing that on to my kids. So– omit or don’t– either way = FANTASTIC cookies!

Leave a Reply

