Skip to content

NPR* (sort of):100 Best Albums of All Time on eMusic

May 2, 2010

In the Aeroplane, Over the Sea

I am no music connoiseur, in fact, I am totally overwhelmed by the amount of music out there and often just rely on old favorites instead of exploring new possibilities. I try to push myself to experiment by belonging to eMusic. For $12 a month, I get 30 download credits (I was grandfathered in from a previous plan since I joined in 2006. Now, $12  gets you 24 credits) and I can download 1 song at a time for 1 credit, or download a whole album (usually for 12 credits). Since I joined, the music selection has improved drastically and they have an audio book service as well.

What I want to share with you today is eMusic members’ compilation of  the 100 Best Albums of All Time. I share this passing absolutely no judgment as to whether these are actually the best albums of all time. I am totally unfamiliar with most of them, but I thought it was neat to see all the albums in a list, with short descriptions, album art, as well as the option to listen to sample tracks without leaving the page so you can continue to browse other albums. I ended up downloading In the Aeroplane, Over the Sea by Neutral Milk Hotel because, well, it was #1, I liked the album art, the description of the music was sufficiently intriguing, and I had the download credits available.

Will I like it? We shall see. Now that, after 8 months of absolutely no music or radio of any sort in my car, I finally got a working car stereo that has an mp3 jack, I may get to listen to some music. But only after listening to the Scooby Doo and Spiderman Theme Songs a sufficiently mind-numbing number of times. . .

2 Comments
  1. Joanna permalink

    In the Aeroplane Over the Sea is probably my favorite album of all time. If not #1, it’s very near the top. Takes a couple of listens to get into it, but even 12 years later I get a little excited to put it on… I don’t know all the albums on their list, but I do know a lot of them and I’m pretty impressed. It’s not your typical Top 100. Taking a quick peek, I also really like Gillian Welsh, Belle & Sebastian, M. Ward, Bon Iver, Arcade Fire, Fela Kuti, Elliot Smith, Interpol, and The National just to name a few. I’m not sure what music you like, but something tells me you’d like Gillian Welsh & Bon Iver… if you’re looking for suggestions 😉

  2. Thanks Joanna, I thought it was a pretty neat list too. Thanks for the suggestions. If you like Fela Kuti, check this out:
    http://www.pbs.org/soundtracks/stories/black/

Leave a Reply

