Skip to content

Reusable Bag Envy

February 23, 2010

I am valiantly fighting the urge to buy the new Envirosax Origami Pouch. But, oh my, the designs are so pleasing to the eye, and wouldn’t they make me a happier person, a better mom, etc. etc.

It’s not as though I don’t already have close to 20 reusable grocery bags. But I swear, if I had these, I’d never want another one.

Just in case you thought I was kidding– these are but a small example of my vast collection:

As a mother, reusable grocery bag coveting has replaced my new clothes/new shoes wants. Companies that capitalize on that are clearly geniuses, and envirosax does it best in my opinion. Their product is strong, roomy, and aesthetically droolworthy. The only rub is that a pouch of 5 is almost $40. They are worth that, but it’s hard to justify ponying that kind of cash up when everyone and their mother are selling 99 cent versions at the check out line. However, if you search online, you can almost always find sales and coupons for envirosax.

For example, brightandbold.com offers free shipping and a 10% off coupon when you sign up for their enewsletter. If time is money, I do realize that the amount of time I spend searching for a piddling percent off negates the value of my savings, but I am a sucker for the hunt.

Another fantastic product in the reusable bag market is the “snack bag” and you can find them in great number on etsy. Designs vary (I especially like the gusseted bottom version by greenstreetbags on etsy. They stand up and stay open, making it easier for little hands to snack). A search for “reusable snack bag” yields over three thousand hits in just about every fabric you can imagine. Most close with velcro and are lined with nylon, so even ooky foods can be ported. We have almost entirely phased out ziploc bags by using these, and they are much more fun to look at. Of course, like my grocery bags, I’m not happy with what I have and want MORE MORE MORE. Sigh.

One thing I don’t have, but obviously should, are these genius and cute produce bags from bite:

The bags are machine washable mesh, with a fun fabric top and a drawstring to keep your apples, zucchini, brinjaul, limes and whatnot from escaping.

So ironic that an industry designed to reduce waste can inspire so much want.

3 Comments
  1. IRIS permalink

    lindas,lindas!!!!!!!!!

  2. biteinc permalink

    Hi Hannah,
    Christine from Bite here. Why don’t you shoot me an email and we’ll get you a deal on those Bite bags? 🙂 info@sustainablebite.com

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Envirosax SALE at Bright and Bold and my new Bite bags! « hannahcloud

Leave a Reply

