Skip to content

The Mammals (and more) Live in Concert on Valentine’s Day!

February 5, 2010

If A) It wasn’t 150 miles away, & B) I had a snowballs chance in hell of getting a babysitter on Valentine’s Day, I would be all over this concert (I’m already drooling over the incredible poster):

If you can, drag your loved one to the Concert for Loved Ones in Haiti at the Colonial Theater in Pittsfield, MA on February 14th.

I have been listening to the Mammal’s 2004 album Rock That Babe, which I downloaded from eMusic.com, nonstop lately and this is a great opportunity to see them since they are not actually performing or recording together right now (they are “hibernating” while individual band members work on other projects– notably mike merenda and ruth unger have recorded some especially fun stuff). Started by Ruth Unger and Tao Rodriguez-Seeger (yes, grandad is Pete) in 2000, the Mammals play bluegrass and their awesome motto is “Trad is Rad.”

If you can’t make it to the concert, you can download some of their live performances from archive.org which I just discovered and can’t believe I didn’t know about before.

If you like what you hear, I also recommend the following:

Mermaid Avenue by Billy Bragg and Wilco (Woody Guthrie’s unused lyrics set to music! Hoodoo Voodoo is the ringtone on my phone.)

Bruce Springsteen’s The Seeger Sessions

The Oh Brother, Where Art Thou? Soundtrack which HUGE DEAL ALERT is for some reason only $2.99 on the Amazon MP3 site. You can’t NOT get it for that price. It is one of my absolute favorite albums

Bob Dylan’s No Direction Home Movie Soundtrack.

Really, if these were the only albums I had, I’d be pretty happy. Well a few others would make the list and I’ll talk about them later, but these are day in and day out faves.

From → good, tunes

One Comment
  1. Hi there, I stumbled upon your blog via Msn while looking for ringtones and your post caught my eye.

Leave a Reply

