Skip to content

i search etsy for you: “badger”

January 24, 2010

I love badgers.

They are vicious, stubby, determined and adorable.

Also, they are sadly underrepresented in the crafting/art world. To whit, search fox on etsy and you will find over 3,000 items listed tagged with “fox,” which is not surprising considering how trendy foxes have been for a while now. Search badger, and you get 269 items and that includes a wide number of badger fur brushes, and badger claw necklaces.

To save you the time of discovering just how little fabulous badger related art there is out there, I found the best for you.

This illustration, called “I’m right behind you,” is just one of many that features costumed badgers in the etsy shop of amy blackwell, blackoutwell. Check them out, the prints are seriously reasonable, the colors lovely, and the badgers, well, too cute!

I do really love foxes as well, but once an animal becomes synonymous with hipster it’s hard to take it seriously.

Animals that used to be trendy and aren’t anymore: Butterflies, Dragonflies

The Trendiest Animals of late: Foxes, Owls, Deer, Rabbits, Squirrels, Birds (mostly song, but really any), bees. All very woodland with the exception of Elephants which are pretty timeless I guess. Well, I mean all these animals are timeless obviously. . .or we hope they are. Did I miss any? Octopus.

I guess the trendiest animals of 2010: Rat (not really, but I wish, I do love rats), Badger, Platypus, Porcupine, Lemur, Snakes

What do you think?

2 Comments
  1. mamgena permalink

    Trendy with me sine you told me about them: LBJs.

  2. I stumbled onto your blog and read a few post. I like your style of writing.

Leave a Reply

