Skip to content

no cook thanksgiving. . .almost.

November 25, 2009

I have hosted Thanksgiving at my house for the past 4 years. And it has always been enjoyable, but also overwhelming. I inevitably bite off more than I really want to chew– making a turkey, biscuits, gravy (badly, unless my mother is in town), 4 or more sides and then, really sinking myself in it, with 3 or more desserts. People bring things, but I still just make too much, too fancy, too too.

It’s delicious, but this year I admit I am relieved that we are headed to a friend’s house for T-Day and I’m only responsible for the Sweet Potato Biscuits. On Friday, my whole family is coming over and we’re ordering Indian Food.

These biscuits by the way, are divine and if you haven’t already settled on a bread for your table, these will do very nicely. They are from the America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book which I use all the time. I couldn’t find the recipe online and don’t think I should post it here, but if you want to try them this recipe as shared by girlichef, by Cook’s Country (part of America’s Test Kitchen) is similar, though more involved (and contains brown sugar, which I don’t think is necessary).

If I were cooking again this year, the following would definitely be on the table again:

  • The Sweet Potato Biscuits, natch.
  • An even better the next day Roasted Beet Salad with Goat Cheese and Walnuts from The Thanksgiving Table by Diane Morgan. All the recipes in this book are fantastic, I highly recommend it. Here is a similar recipe I found online–just omit the spinach and add a 1/4 cup chopped parsley and a handful of torn basil leaves. For best effect, add the goat cheese just before serving so the color contrast remains. The photo below was taken before adding goat cheese.
  • Carmelized Chestnuts and Brussel Sprouts courtesy of Martha
  • Pumpkin Flan with Spiced Pumpkin Seeds from epicurious. I think the crust on pumpkin pie is always a disappointment anyway.
  • Maple Pecan Tart recipe courtesy of Bon Apetit. The best thing about this is that it doesn’t have the goopy middle most pecan pies suffer from.
  • Cranberry Cream Pie from Real Simple. I didn’t take a photo of this, and it sounds weird, but it’s really refreshing and tart. I’d skip the shortbread crust– or maybe do a chocolate or gingersnap one.

So as I drool back over this list from last year do I regret that I just purchased three pies (pumpkin, apple and pecan) from Whole Foods and have the Passage to India menu at hand for ordering?

Nope, not one bit.

From → unknown

3 Comments
  1. Valerie permalink

    Thanksgiving at your house…great memories. I miss you. Please send my love to the fam!

  2. oh, i miss you too val. i was of course thinking of you as i wrote this. what an awesome post dinner walk we had! love to your momma.

  3. Ayana permalink

    Dude, can you email me the recipe for those biscuits?! Yummmmmm!

Leave a Reply

